Please help me see him this summer.

• Thread starter Thread starter /u/hzacinth
  • Start date Start date
U

/u/hzacinth

This might be a complete shot in the dark, but I wanted to try nonetheless.

I am a first-year college student at a university in California. When I applied for college, I chose schools in California, Japan (I’m Half-Japanese), and the Netherlands. It has been a dream of mine to go over to Europe (for an extended period, for study, for a career), but I ultimately decided to stay in California for the security of my education (cost, prestige etc). That being said, I’ve been planning a solo-trip to Europe for many years now, but I haven’t been able to propose it to my parents up until this point.

I understand that my parents (rightfully so) would be apprehensive to let me embark on a trip across Europe by myself—I am their daughter. That being said, nearly anything I do has been met with an overly-protective reaction that has denied me multiple opportunities (Exhibit A, for my high school prom they almost did not allow my friend—a trusted driver—to drive my friends and I to the prom location for 45 minutes even though everyone else’s parents agreed with the carpool…in the end they let me go, but not without telling me the weight of guilt that would be on their conscious if things went wrong…which in turn guilt-tripped me. By the way, the year prior they personally carpooled my best friend and I separately from all of our other friends because they wouldn’t let my friend drive us). This is just one example of the lengths they will go to, often refusing to provide an appropriate reason.

Here is the situation. Up until recently, I would have had to traverse Europe all by myself (a prospect I was technically okay with, but to have company would surely be nice too). It would obviously be very difficult to convince my parents to approve of this.

However, I have been granted with a rare opportunity—I daresay, a once in a lifetime opportunity.